COSI’s Lost Egypt Exhibition


In the Moment… Awe Inspired by COSI
March 7, 2008, 7:07 pm
Filed under: Trip to Egypt | Tags: , , ,

Author: Josh

Promo Work for the Lost Egypt Exhibition

I keep expecting for one of our days here to be something other than breathtaking, but I don’t think that’s going to happen. We worked at three more tombs today, another of which was closed to the public (the Supreme Council of Antiquities actually had to have someone clear away stones from its entrance) and of course they were amazing. It’s incredible to look at these vivid colors and imagine that they are remarkably similar to the way that they looked over 3,000 years ago.

But there were some unexpected gems to go along with the rest of today’s experience. I had the chance to do some promotional footage for Carli, which basically consisted of me using a few of my acting skills for some shots for marketing (and in case you’re wondering, the leather jacket and the hat are not intended to be reminiscent of any fictional characters whatsoever).

Naturally, I love appearing on camera, but to have the opportunity to do so inside of the Tomb of Menna…well, let’s just say that it’s not something I’d ever imagined myself listing on a theatrical resume. It’s telling that Cindy’s recurring note to me was that I needed to act less awe-inspired, which is tough to pull off when you’re standing inside of one of these ancient tombs.

I also had the opportunity to bond with the head guardian of the Tombs of the Nobles, who accompanied us to the tombs. In between shots we talked (via Ehab, our Egyptologist/cultural liaison/tour guide for the day) about his family, his children, his job, and scores of other things too numerous to list here.

We chatted, we listened, we laughed, and all not as colleagues, but as friends. All of our advisors had mentioned before we left what a welcoming people the Egyptians were, but you can’t appreciate just how true that is until you’ve sat in the dirt sipping hot tea and laughing until you thought your sides would split.

More tomorrow. I trust our day will fail to disappoint us yet again.

1 Comment

Wow- It’s not everyday that you get to see a truly monumental moment like my favorite movie character coming to life in the inside of a real Egyptian tomb and not just a movie set. Way to go Josh! It was truly a great job, giving your impression of Khan from Star Trek II. Break a leg! Love, Dad (& Mom)

Comment by Nancy & Dean




Comments are closed.



