COSI’s Lost Egypt Exhibition


A Little Goes Along Way by Carli
March 7, 2008, 6:05 pm
Filed under: Trip to Egypt | Tags: , , , , ,

Author: Carli

We passed through a village on our way to the Tombs of the Nobles, and within seconds, children came scampering from the doorways to sell us hand-made dolls. The dolls were little fabric people and camels with flowing skirts and decorative earrings. The children must have spoken ten different languages, and after presenting their pieces to each of us and trying to barter deals, they asked “maybe later?” then sat outside the tombs waiting for us.

Between tomb shots, we got some video of them playing tag and an Arabic version of ring-around-the-rosie. I gave them each an Egyptian pound (equivalent to about 20-cents American) for their terrific camera work. When I pulled out the roll of singles, I went from 30 kids to what seemed like 130. Our guides had to help me to avoid a total mob scene. But they were so sweet, and their little bare feet reminded me of my own child, so I felt obligated to share!

I also managed to score a ride on the back of a motorcycle today. The head guardian of the tombs (wearing a traditional Galabya robe and headscarf with sunglasses) took me for a joy ride through the desert amongst the hundreds of tombs. I felt like Lara Croft! He jokingly proposed after the ride, but I had to turn him down. He even offered to find my husband an Egyptian wife in exchange, which he may have enjoyed, but I figured I’d have to consult him first! 🙂

Comments are closed.



