COSI’s Lost Egypt Exhibition


Another World – Yet So Close to Home by Josh
March 1, 2008, 7:35 pm
Filed under: Trip to Egypt | Tags: , , , , , ,

Author: Josh

Egypt has always been one of those ethereal places in my mind: frozen in time, with monuments to humankind’s timeless accomplishments hovering against a background of mystery. I pictured the pyramids as being remote, the people exotic, the setting almost otherworldly. Stepping onto the plane yesterday afternoon, I imagined myself stepping off today in a different world.

Of course, I’ve been wrong before. Having been in the city for almost six hours now, I could almost convince myself that we haven’t even left the country, let alone walked off the edge of the planet. We’re staying at a Marriott, and the rooms look remarkably similar to those at countless other Marriotts where I’ve crashed for a night or so. Driving to the hotel from the airport, we drove past billboards advertising for Pizza Hut, Jeep, and Heinz Ketchup (the last of which featured none other than the Tasmanian Devil). I could have eaten a bacon cheeseburger for dinner and washed it down with a Diet Pepsi before swinging by an ATM machine and calling my wife on my cell phone. So much for the land that time forgot.

And honestly? I prefer this version of reality to the fantasy I’d created for myself. Sure, the creature comforts are great, but more than that I think that being surrounded by all of the trappings of modern society makes the Egyptians’ ancient accomplishments that much more impressive. Because if I’d be lost without the sounds of “NCIS” and “American Idol” on the hotel television, I can’t even fathom how I’d begin to build structures that could stand for 4,000 years.

Comments are closed.



